12.5Km 2025-01-10
Pungnap-dong, Songpa-gu, Seoul
+82-2-2147-2800
Onjo, the progenitor of Kingdom Baekje, first settled in Wiryeseong Hanam. But exact location is still unknown. One thing for sure, however, is that Pungnaptoseong Fortress, Mongchontoseong Fortress, Bangidong Ancient Tombs of Baekje, Seokchondong Stone Mound Tomb of Early Baekje are the remains of Baekje. Pungnaptoseong Fortress faces Hangang River to its west and connects to Mongchontoseong Fortress to the south. To the northwest faces Achasanseong Fortress over Hangang River and far to the southeast is Namhansanseong Fortress.
Pungnaptoseong Fortress, located at the south end of Cheonhodaegyo Bridge over Hangang River, is one of the remains of Early Baekje. Originally, the fortress was 4km in circumference, but due to massive overflowing of Hangang River during flood season in 1925, most of the fortress was lost and only 2.7km of it remains. To the east of the fortress are 4 vestiges of the fortress gates. The remains from the prehistoric era through the Samguk (Three States) era have been unearthed, indicating that this place was a residential area well before the Baekje Era. Through vigorous excavation, some people suggest that there used to be a palace located here during the Baekje Era.
12.5Km 2024-04-23
193, Digital-ro, Geumcheon-gu, Seoul
-
12.5Km 2024-04-18
193, Digital-ro, Geumcheon-gu, Seoul
-
12.5Km 2024-04-18
Manseung Outlet, 193, Digital-ro, Geumcheon-gu, Seoul
-
12.5Km 2025-01-23
Baekjegobun-ro 43-gil, Songpa-gu, Seoul, and surrounding areas
Located south of the eastern side of Seokchon Lake, this street is home to numerous restaurants and cafes. Its name comes from the combination of Songpa-dong and Gyeongnidan-gil Street in Itaewon, Seoul, meaning the “Gyeongnidan-gil Street of Songpa-dong.” This street began as an otherwise unremarkable street that faced the eastern side of Seokchon Lake. Today’s “Songnidan-gil Street” came to be as cafes moved into the neighborhood, followed by restaurants and photography studios. Songnidan-gil Street is a popular hangout for young Seoulites in the southeastern side of Seoul, so on weekends, one can often find them conversing in cafes, going for drinks in bars, or waiting in line for the hottest restaurants in the neighborhood.
12.5Km 2025-09-15
Gayang-dong, Gangseo-gu, Seoul
Ginkgo Tree at the Fortress Well Site refers to the old ginkgo tree, which have been designated as a protected tree in 1988, located in Gayang-dong, Gangseo-gu in Seoul. Until the Gayang apartment complex was built, the area where the ginkgo tree is located was a historic place with a beautiful landscape and many anecdotes and legends. Before the Goryeo dynasty, its location served as an important strategic point along the lower part of the Hangang River, where it had a ferry dock with boats that bypassed Haengju and Paju as a shortcut for commuting between Kaeseong and Pyongyang, and is associated with many legends of historical figures who had used the dock. The ginkgo tree also appears in a painting drawn by Gyeomjae Jeongseon, a historic painter of the Joseon dynasty.
12.5Km 2021-06-09
Ui-dong, Gangbuk-gu, Seoul
+82-2-909-0497
Uidonggyegok Valley is located between Bukhansan Mountain and Dobongsan Mountain, and is a popular retreat for locals. Near the entrance to the valley are accommodations, a playground, wedding hall, and other amenities. Clean water runs through the valley, and is lined with restaurants. The hiking path starting to the left of the valley entrance passes Doseonsa Temple on the way to Insubong Peak. The hiking path through the valley is quite difficult, but leads to Uiam Hermitage, and further to Dobongsan Mountain along the ridge. Additional temples in the area include Seongbulsa, Yongdeoksa, Seonunsa, and Gwangmyeongsa Temples.
12.5Km 2021-08-17
454-16, Hoam-ro, Gwanak-gu, Seoul
+82-2-875-2271
During the Gihae Persecution of 1839, three French Catholic priests were sentenced to death for spreading Catholicism in Korea. Saint Laurent Joseph Marius Imbert (Bishop), Saint Pierre Philibert Maubant (Priest), and Saint Jacques Honore Chastan (Priest) were beheaded on September 21, 1839 at Saenamteo, currently known as the Saenamteo Catholic Holy Place of the Martyrs, and their bodies were buried at Samseongsan Mountain and later transferred to the grotto of Myeondong Cathedral.
12.5Km 2024-04-18
3F, 1414, Dongil-ro, Nowon-gu, Seoul
-