Deogyusan National Recreational Forest (국립 덕유산자연휴양림) - Area information - Korea travel information

Deogyusan National Recreational Forest (국립 덕유산자연휴양림)

Deogyusan National Recreational Forest (국립 덕유산자연휴양림)

7.0 Km    28279     2024-04-07

530-62, Gucheondong-ro, Muju-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-322-1097

Deogyusan National Recreational Forest is located south of Muju near Gucheon-dong Valley and Deogyusan National Park. The lush forest of larch and pine nut trees creates a cool ambience for relaxation. The recreational forest features a biking trail, and is near Deogyusan Ski Resort and other leisure facilities.

Deogyusan National Park (Namdeogyu Section) (덕유산국립공원(남덕유분소))

Deogyusan National Park (Namdeogyu Section) (덕유산국립공원(남덕유분소))

7.1 Km    30003     2021-07-13

Sojeong-ri, Geochang-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do
+82-63-322-3174

Designated as a national park in 1975, Deogyusan National Park covers four counties. Besides Hyangjeokbong Peak, Deogyusan Mountain's highest peak in Muju, all the other peaks lie within Geochang. While the park features beautiful waters and rocks at Wolseonggyegok Valley in Buksang-myeon, Geochang, it also boast nature's beauty in Muju with creeks and valleys like Mahakdong Valley, Sangyeodeomgyegok Valley, and Songgyesa Valley.

Jeoksangsan Mountain (적상산)

Jeoksangsan Mountain (적상산)

8.4 Km    22250     2024-04-07

Goemok-ri, Muju-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-322-4174

As one of the best scenic mountains in Korea, Jeoksangsan Mountain (1,030.6 meters) showcases imposing, steep rock walls. Jeoksangsan, also called Red Skirt Mountain, got its name from the view of red maple trees around cliffs in fall that makes the mountain look like a giant red skirt. The mountain boasts a variety of attractions from Hyangnobong Peak (1,029 meters), Cheonilpokpo Falls, Songdaepokpo Falls, Jangdobawi Rock, Janggunbawi Rock, and Allyeomdae Cliff.

The rugged shape of the mountain was considered ideal for building a fortress. And after Jeoksangsan became a designated site for storing Joseonwangjo Sillok (annals of the Joseon Dynasty), the fortress surrounding it was further rebuilt. The mountain is also home to Anguksa Temple, an ancient temple built in 1227 (during the 3rd year of King Chungryeol’s reign) by Monk Wolin. The mountain can easily be climbed by hiking or by vehicle; there is a paved road stretching over 15 kilometers that leads to the top of the mountain thanks to the construction of Muju Power Plant, letting tourists visit Sanjeong Lake and Anguksa Temple conveniently.

Muju Anguksa Temple (안국사 (무주))

8.7 Km    13908     2024-04-07

1050, Sanseong-ro, Muju-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-322-6162

As the only temple in Jeoksangsan Mountain, Anguksa Temple was built in 1227 (during the 3rd year of King Chungryeol’s reign) by Monk Wolin. A secret historical archives, called Sagak, was built to store Joseonwangjo Sillok (annals of the Joseon dynasty) in 1614 (during the 6th year of King Gwanghaegun’s reign) within the mountain, while Seonukgak was built in 1641 (during the 19th year of King Injo’s reign) to store Seonwonrok (royal genealogical records). The two sites were designated as Jeoksangsan Historical Archives during the Joseon dynasty. Hoguksa Temple was also built at that time to prevent accidents from affecting the archives. The temple, along with the existing Anguksa Temple, was used to house monk soldiers who protected the archives.

Because of the construction of Muju Power Plant, Anguksa Temple was relocated to the Hoguksa Temple site and rebuilt in 1995. Consisting of 15 buildings, the temple is surrounded by Sanjeong Lake. Boasting exquisite fall foliage, the temple can be easily reached by vehicle along a paved road. The nearby attractions include Muju Resort and Muju Gucheondong Valley.

Jeoksangsan National History Archives Site (적상산사고지)

Jeoksangsan National History Archives Site (적상산사고지)

8.9 Km    22463     2024-04-07

960, Sanseong-ro, Muju-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-1899-8687

During the Imjin War (1592-1598), many of the National Archives in the capital and the surrounding area were burned down. After this, the archives were duplicated and stored in a variety of locations thoughout the county. The National Archives of Jeoksangsan Mountain was founded in 1614, when important national archives were moved from Myohyang Confucian Academy, with others being added in 1641. This national archives site served a very important role throughout over 300 years of Korea’s history, until it was closed by the Japanese during the Japanese occupation.

Jeoksangsanseong Fortress (무주 적상산성)

Jeoksangsanseong Fortress (무주 적상산성)

10.0 Km    7613     2024-04-07

Goemok-ri, Muju-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-322-2905

Jeoksangsan Mountain (elevation 1,034m) in Muju, Jeollabuk-do, is surrounded by precipitous walls of stratified rocks. The basin on the mountain top there is a lake called ‘Jeoksangho’; and along the ridge enclosing the lake stands Jeoksangsanseong Fortress extending over 8,143m. During the Goryeo period the region was a place of refuge for civilians at times of war. The fortress wall was built during the Joseon era.

Muju Meoru Wine Cave (무주머루와인동굴)

Muju Meoru Wine Cave (무주머루와인동굴)

10.4 Km    35893     2024-04-07

359, Sanseong-ro, Muju-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-322-4720

Muju Meoru Wine Cave is surrounded by a beautiful natural landscape and various cultural heritages. The wine tunnel used to be an excavation working site to build the Muju Water Power Plant. The cave makes for an ideal place to mature and store wine as it blocks light and maintains a consistent temperature. Visitors can enjoy the taste and charm of sanmeoru (wild grape) wine and also experience a unique wine foot bath.

Geochang Wolseong Space Creative Science Museum (거창월성우주창의과학관)

13.0 Km    0     2024-02-23

1312-96 Deogyuwolseong-ro, Buksang-myeon, Geochang-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do

Geochang Wolseong Space Creative Science Museum serves as an interactive science museum, providing opportunities for knowledge acquisition and hands-on experiences related to the universe. The facility is well-equipped for celestial observation, featurig key components like the Astronaut Center, Space Exploration Center, and Celestial Observation Center. Visitors can engage in various experiential programs, including activities such as donning AR space suits, coloring their own universe, and experiencing sensory balance.

Wolseonggyegok Valley (월성계곡)

13.5 Km    64041     2024-02-23

Wolseong-ri, Buksang-myeon, Geochang-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do

Wolseonggyegok Valley is formed by the eastward flow of Wolseongcheon Stream, creating a remarkable landscape as the water winds around rocks and cliffs, earning it the nickname Geochang's Sogeumgang. Though narrow, the valley boasts a deep mountain terrain with abundant water flow. At the entrance of the valley, there are notable sites like Gangseondae Overlook, where it is said that immortals descended from heaven to enjoy the scenery, as well as the ancient Moamjeong and Deoksanjeong Pavilions.

Rajetongmun Gate (라제통문)

Rajetongmun Gate (라제통문)

13.7 Km    25126     2024-04-07

Rajetongmun-ro, Muju-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-322-2905

The historical border of the Silla and Baekje Kingdoms, Rajetongmun Gate of Seolcheon-myeon, Muju was formed from a rock cave in Seokgyeonsan Mountain. The tunnel is approximately 3 meters in x_height and 10 meters in length, and divides the villages of Sindu Maeul into Dugil-ri, Seolcheon-myeon and Inam Maeul in Socheon-ri. During the Three Kingdoms Period, the rocky ridges of Seokgyeonsan Mountain drew the boundary of Silla's Mupung in the east with Baekje's Seolcheo to the west.
Tracing the history from the Three Kingdoms Period to the Goryeo dynasty, the cultures and traditions of the two regions were markedly different. If curious about the difference, one could simply stop by Seolcheon on market day, where the Muju and Mupung local dialects and customs can easily be distinguished.

People used to cross Seokgyeonsan Mountain by a footpath along the rocky ridge to travel between Seolcheon and Mupung. During the Japanese occupation, a new road was created by turning a cave into a tunnel through the mountain so cows and horse carts could freely pass from Muju to Gimcheon.

General Kim Yoo Shin from the Silla Kingdom, the hero of unification of the Three Kingdoms, often passed by the gate, later giving rise to the gate's nickname, Tongilmun (literally "Unification Gate"). The gate is number one on the list of 33 scenic sites in Gucheon-dong.