Aritaum - Bokhyeon Yeongjin Branch [Tax Refund Shop] (아리따움 복현영진) - Area information - Korea travel information

Aritaum - Bokhyeon Yeongjin Branch [Tax Refund Shop] (아리따움 복현영진)

Aritaum - Bokhyeon Yeongjin Branch [Tax Refund Shop] (아리따움 복현영진)

7.6Km    2024-04-22

246, Dongbuk-ro, Buk-gu, Daegu

-

Korean Traditional Culture Center (한국전통문화체험관)

Korean Traditional Culture Center (한국전통문화체험관)

7.6Km    2025-10-23

13-5 Dalgubeol-daero 527-gil, Suseong-gu, Daegu
+82-53-666-4930

Momyeongjae is an ancestral shrine built by the Dureung Doo clan to honor Doo Sa-chung, who had joined the Ming Dynasty's reinforcement troops during the Imjinwaeran (Japanese invasion of Korea, 1592) and later became naturalized in Joseon Dynasty. The name 'Momyeongjae' means 'longing for the Ming Dynasty,' expressing Doo Sa-chung's affection for his home country.
Doo Sa-chung, who was from Duling, China, went to Joseon under the command of General Li Rusong from the Ming Dynasty. Doo Sa-chung took the position titled Suryuk Jihoek Jusa and was responsible for selecting locations to establish a stronghold in consideration of the terrain. As a senior adviser to Li Rusong, he closely discussed strategies and tactics with the Joseon army as well. 
When the war was over, Doo Sa-chung returned to China but went to Joseon again during the Jeongyujaeran (Japanese invasion of Korea, 1597). He brought his two sons -- Doo San and Doo Il-geon -- along with his brother-in-law, Admiral Chen Lin. When the war was over, Doo Sa-chung and his two sons naturalized in Joseon. The government of Joseon granted him land, which is the current Gyeongsang Gamyeong Park area.
When the Gyeongsang Gamyeong (Gyeongsang provincial office) was relocated to this area, Doo Sa-chung offered his land to the government and moved to Gyesan-dong. 
Longing for his wife and brothers he had left in China, he moved again to a village near Daedeoksan Mountain (then Choejeongsan Mountain) and named the area Daemyeong-dong (meaning the Great Ming). He built a platform and on the first day of every month, he would bow in the direction of the Forbidden City in China, where the Emperor of the Ming Dynasty resided.
Momyeongjae is built on a rectangular plot and faces south. It features a hip-and-gable roof with double-layer eaves and has four rooms in the front and two rooms on the side. The daecheongmaru (wooden floor hall) has two ondol (floor heated) rooms on each of its side, with a half-sized bay at the front. Momyeongjae exemplifies  the early 20th-century ancestral shrine style commonly found in the Daegu area. 
The building was originally constructed in 1912 when Doo Sa-chung’s descendants moved wooden materials from the dismantled Gyeongsangaeksa (local government building) and used them to build Momyeongjae in front of Doo Sa-chung's tomb. The shrine was later renovated in 1966 as it was in poor condition. 
Momyeongjae is one of the first destinations visited by Chinese tourists in Daegu. It was recently renovated as part of a redevelopment project. The Korean Traditional Culture Center opened nearby, where visitors can experience tea ceremonies, hanbok (traditional Korean clothing), archery, and cooking dishes based on Donguibogam, a traditional Korean medical encyclopedia. Joining a program at the center will be a valuable experience.

Dalseong Marsh (대구 달성습지)

7.8Km    2025-06-10

88 Gura 1-gil, Hwawon-eup, Dalseong-gun, Daegu

Dalseong Marsh is located in the meeting point of Nakdonggang River, Geumghogang River, Jincheoncheon Stream, and Daemyeongcheon Stream. Spanning an area of 2 ㎢, the marsh comprises wetlands and freshwater lake where various seasonal aquatic plants are grown. It is also home to several different species of migratory birds.

Daegu Spa Valley (대구 스파밸리)

8.1Km    2025-08-12

891 Gachang-ro, Gachang-myeon, Dalseong-gun, Daegu
+82-1688-8511

Daegu Spa Valley is a year-round water park offering various water attractions and hot springs. It features a 250m lazy river pool, Speed Slides, Jungle Aqua, hot spring saunas, Aqua Play, and both indoor and outdoor water playgrounds. There are water park experience programs available for day trips or overnight stays.

Keimyung University Dongsan Hospital (계명대학교 동산병원)

8.2Km    2025-10-23

1035 Dalgubeol-daero, Dalseo-gu, Daegu

Established in 1899 as Daegu's first Western medical institution, Keimyung University Dongsan Hospital is a cutting-edge, eco-friendly facility offering 37 specialties. It features top centers for cancer, robotic surgery, cardiocerebrovascular diseases, and organ transplants. In 2023, it won the Medical Korea Award for cancer care. The International Healthcare Center has been providing personalized services to international patients since 1967.

Hwawon Park (화원동산)

8.3Km    2024-04-08

40-14 , Samunjin-ro 1-gil, Dalseong-gun, Daegu
+82-53-659-4465

Hwawon Park, a vast park beside the Nakdonggang River, is steeped in history. The river, once bustling with Samunjin Quay, where ships laden with goods frequented, now features Samunjin Ferries. Visitors can access Dalseong Marsh Ecological Park via a floating walkway across the river. In the vicinity, the Samunjin Jumakchon Village offers traditional beverages and delicacies, including makgeolli (unrefined rice wine) and pajeon (green onion pancake). With well-maintained walking trails, cafés, and picnic spots, the park serves as an ideal destination for family outings.

Aayang Gichatgil (아양기찻길)

8.4Km    2021-08-10

82, Haedong-ro, Dong-gu, Daegu
+82-53-627-8986

After 78 years of operating, Ayang Railroad Bridge was discontinued and turned into a cultural space with a name Ayang Gichatgil. This attraction is 277 meters in length, 14.2 meters in x_height and total area of 427.75㎡. Visitors can enjoy the observatory, exhibitions, cafe and other facilities. The attraction was award Red Dot Design Award for restoring a discontinued railraod bridge using public design. Nearby attractions include Simni Cherry Blossom Road, Gomoryeongbi Monument, Dongchong Resort, and Onggijonggi Happy Village.

Ayang Art Center (아양아트센터(구, 동구문화체육회관))

8.6Km    2021-04-24

24, Hyodong-ro 2-gil, Dong-gu, Daegu
+82-53-951-3300

With the aim of enriching the lives of Dong-gu district’s residents, Ayang Art Center is equipped with a wide range of facilities for hosting performances, exhibitions, culture classes, sport events, and more. Available facilities include a grand performance hall, variable black box theater, an outdoor performance hall, recreation ground, exhibition hall, culture and arts educational facilities, a wedding hall, sports center with a swimming pool, and a fitness center. As of March 1, 2013, the center's name has been changed from Donggu Arts & Sports Center to Ayang Art Center.

Samunjin Jumakchon Village (사문진 주막촌)

8.7Km    2023-11-09

40-12 Samunjin-ro 1-gil, Hwawon-eup, Dalseong-gun, Daegu

Samunjin was the location of a ferry dock on the Nakdonggang River in the past. During the Japanese occupation, the area was turned into a recreation ground, which saw many people coming to enjoy leisure strolls. In November 2013, three hanok jumak (traditional dining establishment) were built at the site of the old dock and the current Samunjin Jumakchon Village was opened.  The jumak serve a range of foods that were enjoyed in the past, such as makgeolli, gukbap, and buchujeon (chives pancake). The village is well-known as a place to enjoy the sunset.

Enjoy the World Hotel Inter-Burgo [Tax Refund Shop] (즐거운세상인터불고호텔)

Enjoy the World Hotel Inter-Burgo [Tax Refund Shop] (즐거운세상인터불고호텔)

8.8Km    2024-04-22

212, Palhyeon-gil, Suseong-gu, Daegu

-